Joint Strategic Advisory Committee

The Joint Strategic Advisory Committee (JSAC) advises California’s Regional Associations, SCCOOS and CeNCOOS, on how best to meet end user needs within the state. The JSAC meets at least once a year, alternating between the CeNCOOS and SCCOOS regions, and continually updates the two Regional Associations on management needs, industry needs, best products, etc. Membership in the JSAC is statewide and is determined by invitations extended by the joint leadership of CeNCOOS and SCCOOS. Members of the Executive Committees of both Regional Associations are invited to the JSAC meetings.


Chad Whelan, CODAR Ocean Sensors
Chris Mobley, Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary
David Bitts, Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen’s Associations
David Manning, Sonoma County Water Agency
Debbie Aseltine-Neilson, California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CA DFW)
George Robertson, Orange County Sanitation District
Grant Humphries, Farallon Institute
Greg McGowan, Cal Dept of Fish and Wildlife, Office of Spill Prevention and Response (OSPR)
Heather Schlosser, US Army Corps of Engineers
Jeff Crooks, Tijuana River National Estuarine Research Reserve
Jon Warrick, US Geological Survey – Pacific Coastal and Marine Science Center
Kathy Weldon, City of Encinitas
Krista Kamer, CSU COAST
Lesley Ewing, California Coastal Commission
Linda Duguay, University of Southern California (USC) Sea Grant
Liz Whiteman, Ocean Science Trust
Maria Brown, Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary
Mariela de la Paz Carpio-Obeso, SWRCB
Mark Gold, California Natural Resource Agency
Rebecca Smyth, NOAA Coastal Services Center
Roberto Garcia, Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIR)
Samuel Shuchat, California Coastal Conservancy
Shauna Oh, California Sea Grant
Steve Goldbeck, San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission
Susan Zaleski, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)
Toby Garfield, NOAA Southwest Fisheries Science Center
Tom Ford, Santa Monica Bay Restoration Commission
Vanessa Zubkowsky-White, Califronia Department of Public Health
Warren Blier, National Weather Service
William Douros, NOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuarie