Staff, Governing Council & Principal Investigators

Governing Council

The 15-member CeNCOOS Governing Council meets about twice a year to discuss the organization’s structure and vision and to provide guidance to the Program Director. The Council is elected by CeNCOOS members, serve three-year terms and are located throughout central and northern California at various agencies and institutions.

Staff

Central program staff includes the Program Director, Program Manager, Information Manager and Product Developer who work out of the CeNCOOS office at MBARI in Moss Landing, California.

Principal Investigators

Individuals who contribute to the observing system, analysis of the data and the development of products are CeNCOOS investigators. This is an informal designation that is conferred and updated by the CeNCOOS staff with oversight from the Executive Committee. Most but not all investigators are supported by CeNCOOS grants either via sub-awards to their institution or via awards to their institution that includes a CeNCOOS work component. CeNCOOS investigators are expected to represent CeNCOOS externally and respond to requests for input, contribute to the scientific progress of CeNCOOS and participate in the annual meeting, grant-writing, and other CeNCOOS investigator activities.

 

Andrew DeVogelaere
Andrew DeVogelaere
Governing Council

Research Coordinato Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary andrew.devogelaere@noaa.gov

Piero Mazzini
Piero Mazzini
Principal Investigator

Assistant Professor of Earth & Climate Sciences San Francisco State University pmazzini@sfsu.edu

Alex Harper
Alex Harper
Program Staff

Program Manager CeNCOOS aharper@mbari.org (240)-533-9451

Alexander Parker
Alexander Parker
Governing Council

Assistant Professor, Oceanography The California Maritime Academy aparker@csum.edu

Andrew Moore
Andrew Moore
Principal Investigator

Professor University of California, Santa Cruz ammoore@ucsc.edu

Barbara Block
Barbara Block
Principal Investigator

Professor Marine Sciences, Stanford University, Hopkins Marine Station bblock@stanford.edu

Brian Tissot
Brian Tissot
Principal Investigator

Professor Humboldt State University

Chris Edwards
Chris Edwards
Principal Investigator

Professor University of California, Santa Cruz

Clarissa Anderson
Clarissa Anderson
Principal Investigator

Executive Director SCCOOS clrander@ucsc.edu

Dan Costa
Dan Costa
Principal Investigator

Distinguished Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology UCSC costa@ucsc.edu

Dean Wendt
Dean Wendt
Executive Committee, Governing Council, Principal Investigator

Director Center for Coastal Marine Sciences, California Polytechnic State University dwendt@calpoly.edu

Diana LaScala-Gruenewald
Diana LaScala-Gruenewald
Associate Staff

Post-doc CeNCOOS Program Office

Emily Bockmon
Emily Bockmon
Principal Investigator

Assistant Professor California Polytechnic State University ebockmon@calpoly.edu

Eric Bjorkstedt
Eric Bjorkstedt
Governing Council

Research Fish Biologist NOAA/NMFS Southwest Fisheries Science Center, Fisheries Ecology Division eric.bjorkstedt@noaa.gov

Eric Lindstrom
Eric Lindstrom
Governing Council

Senior Scientist Saildrone

Francisco Chavez
Francisco Chavez
Executive Committee, Governing Council, Principal Investigator

Senior Scientist MBARI chfr@mbari.org

Fred Bahr
Fred Bahr
Program Staff

Product Developer CeNCOOS flbahr@mbari.org 831-775-1827

Henry Ruhl
Henry Ruhl
Program Staff

Director CeNCOOS hruhl@mbari.org (831) 775-2126

Jack Barth
Jack Barth
Principal Investigator

Professor and Associate Dean for Research Oregon State University barth@coas.oregonstate.edu

James Doyle
James Doyle
Principal Investigator

Head, Mesoscale Modeling Section, Marine Meteorology Division Naval Research Laboratory james.doyle@nrlmry.navy.mil

John Largier
John Largier
Governing Council, Principal Investigator

Professor UC Davis, Bodega Marine Lab jlargier@ucdavis.edu

Justine Kimball, PhD
Justine Kimball
Governing Council

Senior Program Manager for the Climate Change Program Ocean Protection Council

Karina Nielsen
Karina Nielsen
Governing Council, Principal Investigator

Director & Professor of Biology SFSU, Romberg Tiburon Center for Environmental Studies knielsen@sfsu.edu

Laura Rogers-Bennett
Laura Rogers-Bennett
Governing Council

Senior Environmental Scientist California Department of Fish and Wildlife rogersbennett@ucdavis.edu

Liz Whiteman
Liz Whiteman
Governing Council

Science Advisor CA Ocean Science Trust liz.whiteman@oceansciencetrust.org

Lynn deWitt
Lynn deWitt
Governing Council

Information Technology Specialist NOAA Pacific Fisheries Environmental Laboratory lynn.dewitt@noaa.gov

Lynn Korwatch
Lynn Korwatch
Governing Council

Executive Director Marine Exchange of the San Francisco Bay Region

Mary Miller
Mary Miller
Executive Committee, Governing Council

Project Director Public Understanding of Science San Francisco Exploratorium mmiller@exploratorium.edu

Megan McKinzie
Megan McKinzie
Associate Staff

ATN Data Coordinator CeNCOOS Program Office

Natalie Low
Natalie Low
Associate Staff

Post-doc CeNCOOS Program Office nlow@mbari.org

Patrick Daniel
Patrick Daniel
Program Staff

Information and Data Manager CeNCOOS pdaniel@mbari.org (831) 775-2010

Raphe Kudela
Raphe Kudela
Executive Committee, Governing Council, Principal Investigator

Professor UC Santa Cruz Ocean Science Dept. and IMS kudela@ucsc.edu

Rob Bochenek
Rob Bochenek
Principal Investigator

Information Architect Axiom Data Science rob@axiomalaska.com

Tessa Hill
Tessa Hill
Principal Investigator

Professor University of California, Davis

Tom Connolly
Tom Connolly
Principal Investigator

Professor Moss Landing Marine Laboratories tconnolly@mlml.calstate.edu

Yi Chao
Yi Chao
Principal Investigator

Principal Scientist Remote Sensing Solutions ychao@remotesensingsolutions.com